My God Looks Under the Bed

Do you remember playing Hide and Seek as a kid? One of the first places you always hid was under the bed. Or when the thunder boomed too loud where did you seek shelter? Under the bed. I’m twenty one years old now and when life becomes too scary, too lonely, too painful, too overwhelming I still run and hide. Under my bed.

It’s true. When my anxiety rages and life becomes too much to handle I make a quick dart to my bedroom, dash to the floor, curl up in the fetal position, get beneath my bed, and just cry. I want to hide from all the craziness, the pain, the anxiety, the fear. I don’t want anyone to find me.
Well, maybe just one someone. And he’s the only one who always does.

In Luke 15, there are three different parables about something that goes missing. Often we hear the first and the third one preached on, but the other night in the midst of my hiding neither of these two brought me comfort. It was the second one.

In this second parable we are told of a woman who loses a coin. Big whoop. What’s one measly coin?

This simple coin was not just another penny. This may have been a part of her dowry or bride price paid for her. It was custom for women of this time to wear their dowry as a headdress. This coin was an external sign of her eternal covenant. It could have been the only money she had. Either way this coin was of significant worth and value.

It had a purpose. It was unique. It wasn’t just another coin. It was HER coin. And it was lost. So she absolutely had to find it.

The parable says that she searched all over her house for it. High and low. Moving anything and everything to find this precious coin.  Verse 8, tells us she swept through the whole house until she found it. By using the broom she hopes that when she scrapes the top of the coin it’ll make some kind of noise to alert her to its presence. She lights a lamp and looks into the dark places to find this coin. The Message translation says she searches every nook and cranny to find it. Do you know what that means?

She had to look under her bed. Perhaps it was a mat, but still she had to look under it to see if the coin was there. She left no place unturned. Thank God.

And your point is?

Jesus spoke this parable as a reference to His mission of seeking out the lost and bringing them Home. The woman in this parable is symbolic of Jesus. Therefore, Jesus searches near and far, high and low for the ones He loves. He even looks under the bed.

So in the midst of my fear, anxiety, and desire to run away from it all, Jesus will not leave me alone. He will come and search for me and He will find me. Even if I’m hiding under the bed. When I feel alone and so so lost, He doesn’t give up the search for me. He will shine His light into the dark, confusing places and He will find me.

When he finds me, he’s not waiting to rain down anger, disappointment or embarrassment because I was hiding beneath the bed. Rather, He is rejoicing and jubilant. He found His precious one. The one He was seeking frantically after. The one whom He missed. The one whom He loved.

Jesus came to seek and save that which was lost and hidden, even those still hiding under the bed.

So for those of us who still run and hide, don’t feel ashamed or alone. Know that there is a God who searches under beds to find those he desperately loves. He won’t give up the search until He finds you.

I once was lost, but now I’m found.

“Or what woman having ten silver coins, if she loses one coin does not light a lamp and diligently search the whole house until she finds it?” -Luke 15:8

“For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost but now is found. And then they began to celebrate.” -Luke 15:24

“For the Son of Man came to seek and to save that which was lost.” -Luke 19:10

Published by

Callie Sorrow

A beloved, redeemed nomad who dreams dreams far too large to accomplish on her own. Lover of Laughter. Food Fanatic. People are my Passion.

Leave a Reply

