Despite the Fog

Ornately lit skylines against scarlet and gold sunsets flooded my social media feed this past weekend as many of my friends flying home for the Holidays posted views from airplane windows. I had hoped to follow suit, but the above picture was the only view I had my two hour flight home. Fog. Nothing but fog. Oh, and the wing. I was a little disappointed at first, but then the Lord in His grace taught me a beautiful lesson, despite the Fog.

In the midst of the fog that surrounded me, the only things I could clearly see were the wing to my left and the passengers to my right. I had no clue what storms we might be heading into or how far I was from my given destination or how easy or rough the rest of the passage would be, but the pilot did. I had to trust the pilot to navigate me safely to my destination even though I may not have understood the way.

There was apprehension when I thought of attempting to navigate the thickness of the fog. But the pilot knew this realm far better than I. He had done this before and knew the way, I could trust him. And with that thought it hit me.

Here lately my life has seemed to be an endless, thick, dreadful fog. I can only see what is right in front of me. Everything else seems to be an incessant blur of mixed emotions, hurt, confusion, frustration, and even bitterness mingled together suffocating any light or clarity from reaching me. But I was reminded despite the Fog, my Pilot was still at the wheel. Even though I cannot see, I do not understand, and I feel hopelessly lost, I am not in control. My Pilot will lead me through the Fog.

He knows the way, despite the Fog.

I am grateful that my Pilot is more than merely the Pilot. In many ways, He is the Plane. He is carrying me on this journey. He is protecting me from the brutal cold and blustery wind outside my window. He is the metal fortress that guards, protects, defends from and carries me through Fog.

He is also the Steward on the Flight. He provides for my needs as I journey. He makes sure my hunger is satisfied and my thirst is quenched. The flight may not always be comfortable, but he reassures me that everything will be okay amidst the occasional turbulence in the thick of the Fog.

But in addition to being the Plane, the Steward, and the Pilot, He is also my fellow Passenger. He joins me on my journey. He sits beside me as my constant companion throughout the Flight. We can talk about anything and everything. My fears about the flight. My excitement for the journey ahead. The confusion, anxiety, and even pain that the Fog brings. I can relay my memories of former flights, both the joyful and heart-wrenching. I can tell Him all my dreams, doubts, fears, confusion, frustration, and desires. We laugh together, and sometimes cry together. When I am exhausted, I lean on His shoulder for support and rest. When I am afraid, I grab hold of his Hand for assurance. When I look into His eyes, I find my home, my peace, my worth, my rest. I know I am loved, desired, and cared for. I am His. He is mine.

I know that whenever I reach my destination, wherever it may be, I do not leave the plane alone. He goes with me. We embark on this next new adventure together. Hand in Hand. Lover and Beloved. Excited to see where He will lead me and where we will traverse together.

The Plane has carried me here. The Pilot has guided me to this new destination safely. The Steward provided for my needs along the journey. And now my Fellow Passenger will continue the journey on foot with me. In these things I take hope. In these things I find peace. In these things I rest. Of these things, I am certain, despite the Fog.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart. Lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” -Proverbs 3:5-6

“Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, ‘He is my refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust,’…He will cover you with his feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge…” -Psalm 91:1-2, 4 

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” -Isaiah 41:10

 

Published by

Callie Sorrow

A beloved, redeemed nomad who dreams dreams far too large to accomplish on her own. Lover of Laughter. Food Fanatic. People are my Passion.

Leave a Reply

